Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By brookfieldangler
  • 1 Post By jbird

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2014, 10:45 AM

ogouveia is on a distinguished road
Default What type of line core is best for tropical saltwater

I'm new to the forum and this is my first post here. I appreciate any help.

I've been fishing New England my whole life (mostly Largemouth bass fishing) but I am new to fly fishing and am thoroughly hooked on it (pun intended). I have the opportunity to do some Saltwater Flats fishing down in Florida at the end of February and I have put together 9' 9 WT TFO Mangrove rod with an Orvis Hydros V reel.

I am on the fence about which line to choose due to my lack of experience fishing warmer climates. I have it narrowed down to Rio's Tropical Clouser Line WF9F and Cortland Precision Tropic Plus WF9F. I currently use Rio's Cold water clouser line on my 6wt setup and I love the way it casts and handles so I'm leaning in that direction.

My question is:

Is it better to go with the Cortland line which has a braided mono core or the Rio line with it's Powerflex core? I'm guessing the biggest factor in core type is line memory and sensitivity. Can anyone offer any insight into this?

Thanks!
Old 01-23-2014, 10:50 AM

brookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: What type of line core is best for tropical saltwater