The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2014, 11:29 PM

ts47 has a spectacular aura aboutts47 has a spectacular aura about
Default Sinking line/tip question

I want to buy a 300 grain sink tip fly line with an intermediate running line. The sink tip needs to be something like 30 feet long and fast sinking to get down in the waters I'm fishing. The question is which one. I have no real experience with this type of line and would love some suggestions.

The three lines I'm considering are;

SA textured Streamer Express. Problem - solid mono core that gives a lot of stretch.

Orvis 3D Depth Charge. Problem - Concerned about hinging. SA and Rio both have a thicker section of line between the head and running line to prevent hinging. If Orvis has this too, I'll likely buy it. Unfortunately, Orvis does not seem to share this info. Does anyone know if there are hinging issues with this line

Rio (can't locate the name right now, 24' head I think). Problem - not textured and somewhat shorter head.

Can anyone offer any help?

Thanks,

Todd

--Irish Blessing
Old 02-22-2014, 07:53 AM

itchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Sinking line/tip question

Add Airflo Streamer Max to you list of potential lines.

Personally I have the sa streamer express... Great line... Casts great and sinks like a rock.
Old 02-22-2014, 08:16 AM

delopez is a jewel in the roughdelopez is a jewel in the roughdelopez is a jewel in the roughdelopez is a jewel in the rough