The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2008, 01:27 PM

swalker9513 is on a distinguished road
Default Choosing a fly line

Please excuse me for the intrusion. I'm a bit of a novice to flyfishing, and spend a great deal of my time fishing warm waters. But on occasion make it to cold water for trout.

Fly line selection hurts my brain nearly as much as trying to buy a rod...so many options...so much marketing...and really, honestly, much more ignorance on my side of the equation.

I very much enjoy short, light rods. It seems to make the fight more fair, but that's just what I prefer. I don't have the most efficient casting stroke either. So my lack of experience forces me to places like this to seek instruction. The equation for choosing a fly line seems akin to the calculations to determine the BCS Champion (rod weight x casting stroke / rod flex + preferred fly x cost) It's really mind-boggling. So any help would be appreciated. I want to have that beautiful experience of the perfectly balanced system.

I sorta know what WF, DT, shooting line, sinking line means in generalities, but more than a little foggy on nuances. I just assumed that I would always buy WF floating line, but the more I read, I'm not so sure anymore.

I'm sure there is a question in here somewhere. Sorry.

How about this? WF (advantages, disadvantages, application) DT (adva...)

I know I'm asking for a books worth of knowledge.
Old 12-24-2008, 02:56 PM

Default Re: Choosing a fly line

Hmmm? maybe I should try another approach.

Does anyone have experience with Cortland 444 Sylk line? They market it to bamboo rod users, but would a progressive taper graphite rod be similar enough? I've never fished with a bamboo rod before so I really don't know.
Old 12-24-2008, 03:27 PM