The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2009, 10:02 AM

pl4a is on a distinguished road
Default What sinking lines to consider?

In addition to river fishing, I'm also going to try some lake fishing this year for both trout and bass. Never done lake fishing with a fly rod. If I'm not mistaken, I believe that I will benefit from using sinking (or sinking tip?) line. Can I use the same sinking line for both species of fish? In the areas I fish I'm expecting trout 12-20" and bass 3-5lb.

How do I select a sinking line for the applications? What considerations? Any specific line recommendations? This would be paired with a gloomis 9' 5# streamdance and lamson velocity 2.

I've never used sinking line before, so please don't hesitate to start at the beginning. Thanks in advance.

-Paul
Old 03-10-2009, 09:25 AM

FlyDog is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What sinking lines to consider?

This would be a good place to start.
Cortland - Precision Clear Camo Intermediate (90)
You might add a type 2 if you find yourself needing to get deeper.
Hope this helps.
Old 03-10-2009, 06:14 PM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator

peregrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond repute