Reel for Sage Z-Axis 11' 7 weight "Switch" rod.

Fly2Fish

Reaction score
I've found that the flylines suitable for two-handed Spey-type casting (which I'm just getting into) will not fit - even without backing - on my 7-weight Hardy Marquis reel (the line in question is a 6/7/8F [7S] Rio Windcutter, & the rod is a Sage Z-Axis 11' 7-wt. "Switch"). Of course, these vintage reels were no doubt made before Spey casting became popular. I've always liked these reels because I prefer "palming" the spool rim for drag rather than using a mechanical drag.

Can anyone suggest a reasonably-priced "value" reel that would work well with this rod and line, considering the Z-Axis' light weight for its length?

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
Rumor has it that Abel will have a two click drag reels for Spey and switch fishing. That will be interesting to see.

As for reasonably priced reels, consider an Orvis Battenkill Bar Stock V reel. It is designed for single handed lines in 9-11 weights, so fitting a WC 6/7/8 should not be a problem. It has a disc drag, but it isn't a very powerful one. If you hook into a pissy Steelhead, you would have to palm your reel anyways. On the Orvis website, the reel is on sale for $120. I know a guy who uses his 6 weight switch with a BBS IV.

Even though I wouldn't choose this model, I know a few guys who use Scientific Anglers Mastery System 2 reels on their Spey and switch rods. These aren't very high tech reels. Maybe the 8/9 model?

MP

Frank Whiton

Most Senior Member
Reaction score
Hi Fly2Fish,

Here are my Choices:

1. Nautilus CCF

2. Ross Momentum LT

3. Ross Momentum