The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2010, 10:53 PM

spencerhicks is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to spencerhicks
Default Custom Fly Reels

Hey everyone, I'm an engineering student at Cornell University, I live in Michigan when I'm not at school, and am an avid fly fisherman. I am thinking about ways to come up with money for school and was wondering about the plausibility of making custom machined fly reels. I was thinking incorporating cool designs on the outside of the reel housing (opposite the spool). I could come up with a few standard designs and leave room for custom work per customer request. Would there be interest amongst the fly fishing community here? If I kept prices low and quality high do you think anyone would give them a shot? Let me know what you think.

Moderators: I'm not advertising any business here I'm just exploring the possibility and doing market research before making an investment. If you feel this crosses the line on the rules, feel free to remove the posting.
Old 01-26-2010, 12:44 AM

blackbear will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Custom Fly Reels

I think there is always a market for custom tackle...just remember you would need a high end lathe and milling machine for the proper tolerances custom reels deserve.
Old 01-26-2010, 01:57 AM
Banned

Location: Lake of the Woods/Rainy River Minnesota Canada border
Guest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond repute