The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2010, 09:35 AM

barberc6864 has a spectacular aura aboutbarberc6864 has a spectacular aura about
Default A stupid question on reel function

Are fly reels supposed to click just when line is going out or in both directions?

I feel silly asking, but I am a newbie and want to make sure I fully understand.

Thanks
Old 03-06-2010, 09:43 AM

flatslandercp has a spectacular aura aboutflatslandercp has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: A stupid question on reel function

As they say, there are no stupid questions except those not asked.

MOST reels click only on the way out, but it really depends on the make and model.

I have one reel that makes noise only on the way in, which is rather odd and some find it annoying. Some disk drag reels have a clicker that really only serves to make noise when line is going out, presumably so the angler knows the fish is taking line if he/she is not aware. I've disabled those on a couple of my reels, since they really have no function on a disk drag reel.

IF your reel is making noise only on the retrieve side, and it is a click and pawl drag, you may have it rigged backward, and will need to change it from right to left hand retrieve (or the other way, depending on how it was first set up).

Good luck and welcome to the sport.

Craig
Old 03-06-2010, 10:21 AM

barberc6864 has a spectacular aura aboutbarberc6864 has a spectacular aura about

Thanks Craig,