The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2011, 12:40 AM

uscmule is on a distinguished road
Default Decisions decisions....

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to the sport and the forum. Be gentle

I'm trying to decide between a Lamson Konic 2 and an Allen Trout Reel for a 5 wt rod (primarily trout fishing).

Other Reels I considered but am not as excited about are the Loomis Venture, Sage 1850, and Orvis BBS.

My budget is about $125ish and I will likely be pairing this reel with an Echo Carbon.

Ideas or recommendations? Thanks!
Old 05-03-2011, 01:41 AM
Super Moderator

jpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Decisions decisions....

don't worry....lots of kind and helful people here
looks like many people enjoy their Allen reels.... sorry,can't help you more I only use Vivarelli or Cordel reels
Old 05-03-2011, 03:04 AM

ausablebrown is a splendid one to beholdausablebrown is a splendid one to beholdausablebrown is a splendid one to beholdausablebrown is a splendid one to beholdausablebrown is a splendid one to beholdausablebrown is a splendid one to beholdausablebrown is a splendid one to beholdausablebrown is a splendid one to behold

Quote:
Originally Posted by uscmule View Post
Hi all,

I'm a newbie to the sport and the forum. Be gentle

I'm trying to decide between a Lamson Konic 2 and an Allen Trout Reel for a 5 wt rod (primarily trout fishing).