The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2006, 04:16 PM

salmonfever is on a distinguished road
Question Match rod with reel

Hi everybody. I am new to fly fishing although I have used flies for salmon with my spinning rods. I always wanted to get a salmon fly rod. I have a 5/6 trout rod but never used it. This fall i decided to buy a salmon fly rod and go after the big guys. I ordered a cabela's sli 9' 10 wt because it looked of very good qaulity for the money. I wasn't sure what reel to buy so I got a cortland large arbor endurance. Does anyone have any comments about the rod -reel matching. I went out yesterday for casting ( practice) and the two seemed well balanced. Ofcourse i can always send stuff back and get something else.
I appreciate any comments
Tight lines to all of you
Old 09-25-2006, 04:31 PM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future
Default Re: Match rod with reel

If you got the #3 model that is intended to hold a 9 or 10 weight line, I think you've got a great set-up. If you ordered a different one, then I would just get ready to swap it out for the larger size. You need the 9-10 weight size to hold the bulky 10wt line, and the weight of it to balance that stout 10wt rod you ordered.