The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2011, 09:54 PM

flyfishingjack is on a distinguished road
Default New Pflueger Medalist - How do I know it's spooled correctly and setup on rod correct

Hi everyone.

I'm new to fly fishing (2 weeks to be exact). I just bought a beginner setup and it came with a Pflueger Medalist 1494 reel.

1) How do I know it's setup for right hand retrieve properly? (in other words the line is facing the right way, etc.)

2) There are 3 straight pin guides that hold the reel together. 2 of them are on this silver/aluminum plate part. Which two pins to I feed the line through before going into the bottom rod guide?

I'm sorry for the dumb questions, I'm new and this reel didn't come with a manual and couldn't find one online.

Can someone show me a pic of how their reel/rod is setup and how the line is run through the first bottom guide?

Thanks.
Old 06-18-2011, 08:01 AM

Rip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New Pflueger Medalist - How do I know it's spooled correctly and setup on rod cor

Newer Metalists are now set up for left hand retrieve out of the box (blister pack ) If your reel came new in the package, it should have included instructions on how the reverse it. It will say "conversion to right hand". That would include both flipping the ratchet on the spindle and moving the line guard pillars.