The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2007, 05:06 PM

Didgeridoo is a splendid one to beholdDidgeridoo is a splendid one to beholdDidgeridoo is a splendid one to beholdDidgeridoo is a splendid one to beholdDidgeridoo is a splendid one to beholdDidgeridoo is a splendid one to beholdDidgeridoo is a splendid one to behold
Default Looking to buy a reel and rod.

Hey,

I'm looking at getting myself a reel and rod. I've never picked up a fly rod so I'm totally new to the sport. I've been tying flies but all the lakes are frozen up with three feet of ice here.

I'll be fishing for mainly bass, whitefish, sunfish, and walleye. Fishing streamers, nymphs, muddlers, and crays.

The three reels I've been contemplating are:

Martin Mohawk River #5/6

Okuma SLV #5/6

TICA Fishmaster S #6/7

I'm looking for dependable drag, fishability, and versatility. I've always been a Quantum guy for spinning and baitcasting reels so fly fishing is totally new to me!

As far as rods go I'm looking for about a 9' 6wt. 2pc. Again to match up with the reels above. I'd like something pretty good to start with and keeping the price down.

So far I've liked the Martin below. Price is right, seems like a decent rod and I do like Martin as a company. Good reputation.

Martin Mohawk River 9' 6wt.

Anyways, if you have any other suggestions for this price range, please feel free.

Cheers,
Nick
Old 02-14-2007, 07:04 PM

Jakeway is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Looking to buy a reel and rod.