The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Fly Reels (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-reels/)
-   -   Inexpensive Reels Compared (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-reels/1978-inexpensive-reels-compared.html)

Joefishin 05-06-2007 12:03 AM

Inexpensive Reels Compared

The post I made on 8 to 10 wt rods is drawing such a crowd that I figured I ask about less expensive fly reels. The purpose of these reels in question is to catch salmon in Alaska.

I can get a decent discount on Scientific Anglers Systen 2, Martin, Okuma Helios, Pflueger Trion and Summit reels. Are any of these capable of catching salmon and surviving a multiday trip? The reels I am interested in will be for rods in the 8 to 10wt class.

Since I am not an expert on this stuff, I can only guess that not all of the reels mentioned will have the capacity of 100' weight forward sinking tip fly line, plus the recommended 150yds of backing. I would assume that the backing should be 30# test as well.. Anybody have any idea, knowledge on these points?

If need be I will break down and pay for a more expensive reel, but I was hoping that at least one of these "working man" brands would be good enough.

Colorado Cajun 05-06-2007 09:14 PM

Re: Inexpensive Reels Compared

Hey Joefishin, Welcome!

Of the reels you mentioned, I'd go with the Trion because it has a very durable drag system. I'd also check out the Orvis Battenkill Mid or Large Arbor reels too. I'm not sure of the capacity on any of them. I don't fish anything that large nor most of the regulars. We do have a few salt water guys around that might be more helpful.

Joefishin 05-06-2007 11:32 PM

Thanks Mitch. I too think the Trion has some potential. As far as the Battenkill goes, a pro shop in New Hampshire likes the real in the large arbor flavor, but when I went to my local Orvis dealer, he wants me to go for the Mark 5.