The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2007, 12:03 AM

Joefishin is on a distinguished road
Default Inexpensive Reels Compared

The post I made on 8 to 10 wt rods is drawing such a crowd that I figured I ask about less expensive fly reels. The purpose of these reels in question is to catch salmon in Alaska.

I can get a decent discount on Scientific Anglers Systen 2, Martin, Okuma Helios, Pflueger Trion and Summit reels. Are any of these capable of catching salmon and surviving a multiday trip? The reels I am interested in will be for rods in the 8 to 10wt class.

Since I am not an expert on this stuff, I can only guess that not all of the reels mentioned will have the capacity of 100' weight forward sinking tip fly line, plus the recommended 150yds of backing. I would assume that the backing should be 30# test as well.. Anybody have any idea, knowledge on these points?

If need be I will break down and pay for a more expensive reel, but I was hoping that at least one of these "working man" brands would be good enough.
Old 05-06-2007, 09:14 PM

Colorado Cajun is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Inexpensive Reels Compared

Hey Joefishin, Welcome!

Of the reels you mentioned, I'd go with the Trion because it has a very durable drag system. I'd also check out the Orvis Battenkill Mid or Large Arbor reels too. I'm not sure of the capacity on any of them. I don't fish anything that large nor most of the regulars. We do have a few salt water guys around that might be more helpful.

Give a man a fish, he will have dinner. Teach a man to fish and he will be late for dinner. Quote by Someone. *L*
Old 05-06-2007, 11:32 PM