The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

Like Tree7Likes
  • 2 Post By sbreech
  • 1 Post By caseywise
  • 1 Post By biggie_robs
  • 1 Post By sbreech
  • 2 Post By williamhj

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2012, 01:38 PM

wmalloy5 is on a distinguished road
Default 6WT value reel.

I have a G Loomis Xperience 9' 6WT rod. I'm looking for a reel around $100. I'm leaning towards the Ross flyrise or Allen trout reel. I'll mostly use this setup on stillwater with occasional trips to the Kern River. So I'm also taking into account the price of spare spools to go from stillwater to the river quickly and easily. I am fairly new to fly fishing and will be fishing for trout and bass with this rod. This is also why I decided to go with a 6wt.

Another question I have is how much of a difference is there between a size 2 reel vs size 3 both are capable of 6wt lines.
Old 11-04-2012, 01:56 PM
sbreech

Default Re: 6WT value reel.

In that price range, Cabelas has the Lamson Konic on sale for $88.88. That's a pretty nice reel you may want to consider.
Hardyreels and brucerducer like this.
Old 11-04-2012, 02:19 PM

caseywise has a reputation beyond reputecaseywise has a reputation beyond reputecaseywise has a reputation beyond reputecaseywise has a reputation beyond reputecaseywise has a reputation beyond reputecaseywise has a reputation beyond reputecaseywise has a reputation beyond reputecaseywise has a reputation beyond reputecaseywise has a reputation beyond reputecaseywise has a reputation beyond reputecaseywise has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to caseywise

the allen trout II is a very nice reel, although maybe a bit over your budget.
the konic is a nice reel(cast), as is the ouuma slv.
the allen is machined to very high tolerances and would, hands down, be the best choice IMO

casey