The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

Like Tree12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2012, 11:36 AM

jpwv12 is on a distinguished road
Default Is Orvis good quality or just popular?

I am new to fly fishing and was wondering if any of the Orvis reels are good quality? Before starting research on a rod and reel Orvis was the only company I had heard of. How does the quality compare to some of the names Ive seen such as Abel, Lamson, Hardy, Galvan, etc.
Old 11-07-2012, 12:28 PM

axle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud of
Default Re: Is Orvis good quality or just popular?

I'm not an expert, but one would have to define "quality". IMO, Orvis makes fine reels. I have several. I also have reels from Allen, too, which I find to be of good quality.

Orvis is a big name, but they didn't get to be a big name by selling junk. I think they are on the upper end of the gene pool (and you'll pay for that upper end of the gene pool). There are other manufacturer's that make better reels for specific things, like Lamson or Abel for saltwater. I'm not endorsing them as I don't own any, but when you do enough research, you'll see what floats to the top rather quickly.
mcnerney, mrfzx and shotgunfly like this.
Old 11-07-2012, 02:44 PM

mysticm is a splendid one to beholdmysticm is a splendid one to beholdmysticm is a splendid one to beholdmysticm is a splendid one to beholdmysticm is a splendid one to beholdmysticm is a splendid one to behold