The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2012, 06:58 PM

thekrow is on a distinguished road
Default New fly fisherman. Reel choice.

I'm new to fly fishing. I want to fish for bass. I will most likely buy a #8 TFO rod. I need some recommendations on a reel. Id like a large arbor. Must be able to use in salt water. I dont want a plain black one. I'd like something, classy looking. For lack of better words. And also under $200. All advice is welcome. Thank you.
Old 11-24-2012, 07:30 PM

kelkay is a splendid one to beholdkelkay is a splendid one to beholdkelkay is a splendid one to beholdkelkay is a splendid one to beholdkelkay is a splendid one to beholdkelkay is a splendid one to beholdkelkay is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: New fly fisherman. Reel choice.

How about an Okuma Helios? I hear good things about them.
Old 11-24-2012, 08:01 PM

jpwv12 is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by thekrow View Post
I'm new to fly fishing. I want to fish for bass. I will most likely buy a #8 TFO rod. I need some recommendations on a reel. Id like a large arbor. Must be able to use in salt water. I dont want a plain black one. I'd like something, classy looking. For lack of better words. And also under $200. All advice is welcome. Thank you.
Although I am new to fly fishing as well and dont have any experience to back up my suggestion, I recommend the Galvan Torque. You can find them on ebay in your price range if you watch closely. I went with a Torque in bronze.
Old 11-24-2012, 08:52 PM

cowpokey is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by thekrow View Post
Why are you going with such a heavy rod?
Old 11-24-2012, 10:34 PM

ultralightidaho is on a distinguished road

I would do a lamson konic.
Old 11-24-2012, 11:13 PM