The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

Like Tree7Likes
  • 2 Post By wannafish
  • 1 Post By Hardyreels
  • 4 Post By jaybo41

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2012, 11:09 AM

jaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Hardy LRH springs

I am new to click and pawl reels, but have really been enjoying fishing and collecting them over the past year. I have a pre loved, vintage LRH acquired last year that seems to be working its way toward my go to spring creek reel. There's something special about it--the history of the company, simplicity of the design, patina of the reel and knowing that at least one other angler fished it for years before me that just strikes me as, well, very cool. I had a couple of experiences last year where the line seemed to spool on me a bit. This happened when I had line out on the water and was either going for a quick hook set. It wasn't bad and it didn't cost me a fish but it seemed to be different than my experience with my other click and pawl. Admittedly, I didn't have the screw tightened down on it--at all.

For perspective, I have also been fishing a St. John on my switch rod for larger fish and have not had an issue with spooled line and un-tightened screw when put in the same circumstance as mentioned above.

I guess my questions are twofold: How do I know if I should replace the springs? Assuming that I do need to replace them, what is the best source to get the new springs?

Thanks in advance.