The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Fly Reels (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-reels/)
-   -   Lamson Velocity Reels (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-reels/331863-lamson-velocity-reels.html)

hoyt3065 09-19-2013 09:09 AM

Lamson Velocity Reels

I just ordered a couple Lamson velocity reels to set up a couple rods as I'm just getting into the sport, even though I've been fishing with my conventional reels for a long time. I wouldn't have bought them at full MSRP as my first reels, but the closeout prices were just too good to pass up. I picked up a number 2 and a number 3 and I'm planning on setting them up as a 5wt and a 7wt paired with echo 3 rods.
I'm interested in hearing what any of you guys that have used these reels think about them. I'll be doing my practicing in some local ponds and lakes and streams and hopefully once I have the casting down better I'll make some mini trips over the the mountains and so on. from what I hear there are some decent spots in western Maryland Pennsylvania and Virginia to check out.

mridenour 09-19-2013 09:11 AM

Re: Lamson Velocity Reels

I don't have a Velocity but I fish a Guru. I love the quality and drag of the Lamson products. I think you will love those reels.

stl_geoff 09-19-2013 09:15 AM

They are changing the spool cosmetically, same with the litespeed and they can now be had for 30-40% off. They are good reels, I almost bought one.

kglissmeyer1 09-19-2013 09:38 AM

Velocity is the best reel I've ever owned. I would recommend it to anyone.

Kelly.

stl_geoff 09-19-2013 10:51 AM

And just as an FYI, the new spools will work with the older model reels.

MoscaPescador 09-19-2013 11:45 AM

For your applications, the Velocity reels are excellent. You will enjoy them.