The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2013, 09:09 AM

hoyt3065 is on a distinguished road
Default Lamson Velocity Reels

I just ordered a couple Lamson velocity reels to set up a couple rods as I'm just getting into the sport, even though I've been fishing with my conventional reels for a long time. I wouldn't have bought them at full MSRP as my first reels, but the closeout prices were just too good to pass up. I picked up a number 2 and a number 3 and I'm planning on setting them up as a 5wt and a 7wt paired with echo 3 rods.
I'm interested in hearing what any of you guys that have used these reels think about them. I'll be doing my practicing in some local ponds and lakes and streams and hopefully once I have the casting down better I'll make some mini trips over the the mountains and so on. from what I hear there are some decent spots in western Maryland Pennsylvania and Virginia to check out.

Last edited by hoyt3065; 09-19-2013 at 10:01 AM.
Old 09-19-2013, 09:11 AM

mridenour has much to be proud ofmridenour has much to be proud ofmridenour has much to be proud ofmridenour has much to be proud ofmridenour has much to be proud ofmridenour has much to be proud ofmridenour has much to be proud ofmridenour has much to be proud ofmridenour has much to be proud ofmridenour has much to be proud of
Default Re: Lamson Velocity Reels

I don't have a Velocity but I fish a Guru. I love the quality and drag of the Lamson products. I think you will love those reels.
mcnerney and troutnut4 like this.
Old 09-19-2013, 09:15 AM