The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

Like Tree9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2014, 08:11 AM

clibb is on a distinguished road
Default Fly Reel under $100

Hey guys,

Looking for a decent fly reel for under $100 for my father-in-law. Nees to be a 5 or 6 weight. I was looking at Ross and Okuma, any experience?

Also, I'm looking for a reel myself for around $150-$200, I'd describe myself as an intermediate-advanced fly fisherman. Mostly lake fishing with a 6 weight. I have been using the same reel for 8 years and now that one is almost done, so it's time to get a new one.

Thanks for your help,

/Robin
Old 02-26-2014, 08:45 AM

itchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Fly Reel under $100

Sage 1800 series on sierra trading post for $75 or an Okuma SLV or Integrity off the auction site... Both are solid reels for under $100...

Just a side note... The 1800s are big... I ended up buying the 1850 for a 7wt... And the Integrity is kinda compact and use a 7/8 on my 6wt...

Between the Okumas the Integrity is built like a tank and the SLV is lighter... I'd go with the Integrity overall... Just make sure to not get the black ones... They have a horrible drag knob that's sure to snag line from time to time
Old 02-26-2014, 09:06 AM

gregnash will become famous soon enough

What type of fishing is this going to be for? I would recommend the Orvis Battenkill II, $98 at Orvis and if you signup for their newsletter they will occassionally send you $25 off coupons.
dean_mt likes this.
Old 02-26-2014, 09:39 AM

dar is on a distinguished road