The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

Like Tree25Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2014, 02:08 PM

sweetandsalt has much to be proud ofsweetandsalt has much to be proud ofsweetandsalt has much to be proud ofsweetandsalt has much to be proud ofsweetandsalt has much to be proud ofsweetandsalt has much to be proud ofsweetandsalt has much to be proud ofsweetandsalt has much to be proud ofsweetandsalt has much to be proud ofsweetandsalt has much to be proud of
Default Sealed Drag Reels

Last week I experienced a first and it is indicative of a maturing, revolutionary trend. Between DIY and guided camp trips I have been bonefishing once or twice a year since the late 1980's. Flats fishing with hard running, backing revealing fish, intense heat, salt, sand and marle is an ultimate test of tackle. After allocating the significant funds to travel to and be guided in tropical flats environments and grasping the need for reliable, high performance equipment, it makes little sense to try and save money by outfitting yourself with sub-standard tackle. Hence for decades, the #7 - 12-weight rods rigged on camp rod racks have sported the usual suspects; cork disc, draw-bar reels. Back when, it was "wedding cake" Fin Nors and Seamasters. My first bonefish reel was a Catino Bonefish, the first machined, one-piece frame cork, draw-bar. Abels and Tibors quickly followed and these two rugged, easy to maintain, powerful drag reels, along with a few Islanders have dominated camp rod racks for a long time. Over the past several seasons, flats fishermen have begun to add several sealed drag reels to their arsenal on the theory that a genuinely sealed drag sounds like a good idea for the harsh flats environment. But are they really sealed and what if they fail...you can't rinse, re-lube, re-assemble and go back to fishing as with a draw-