The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2016, 03:17 PM

kaianuanu is on a distinguished road
Question Reddington Behemoth vs. Okuma SLV

I'm new to fly fishing and looking to set up a rod that's capable of handling anything from monster Florida bluegill and largemouth bass up to bonefish. I'm thinking a 7wt is what I need. But for reel choice, what are your opinions on an Okuma SLV vs a reddington Behemoth? I went into a fly shop today and the girl working it was telling me that one of the sales rep uses the behemoth for tarpon because it's supposed to have some amazing drag. However, I have always been a fan of Okuma products and have read good reviews on the SLV. Obviously, the drag is the main thing I'm interested in here. So, any information or input you guys could give me would be greatly appreciated.
Old 04-30-2016, 12:32 PM

rockthief is a name known to allrockthief is a name known to allrockthief is a name known to allrockthief is a name known to allrockthief is a name known to allrockthief is a name known to all
Default Re: Reddington Behemoth vs. Okuma SLV

People use the SLV for big steelhead so that is quite the recommendation I think. Welcome to the forum.
Old 05-06-2016, 11:59 AM

sabbatoy is on a distinguished road

The Okuma SLV is a pretty nice reel for the money. Not sure I would bank on the drag to hold up to screaming fish. I have one on my switch rod but have yet to get a steelie to put it to the test. I have heard good things about the new Redington reels but haven't handles one. My favorite reels are any Lamson from the Konic to the Velocity....
Old 05-12-2016, 09:26 PM

banjominnow is on a distinguished road