The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2009, 10:16 AM

flightcontrol is on a distinguished road
Default Any reviews on G Loomis' Current Reels?

I am about to purchase G Loomis' Streamdance GLX (5wt) rod and wanted to put their 5-6 wt. Current Reel with it but I can't find a review out there anywhere for this reel. I'm new to this form, and to fly fishing for that matter but I would sure appreciate some help.

Kind regards,
Danny
Old 01-28-2009, 10:59 AM
Administrator

Frank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Frank Whiton
Default Re: Any reviews on G Loomis' Current Reels?

Hi flightcontrol,

I think you will like your GLX rod. I have never seen a Currant Reel. Here are my thoughts:

I assume the reel is made over seas but I don't know where. The description of the reel from Loomis says: "cold forged". To me cold forged means it is stamped out of aluminum sheet. There is nothing stated about the reel being machined. It is called a light weight reel but they omit the weight of the reel. In many cases when weight is omitted it means the reel is heavy. The list price of the reel is $270 and that puts it in competition with several USA made reels that are fully machined. A fully machined reel means better tolerances and probably better performance.

So I don't know if it is a good reel or not but for the money I think you can do better.