The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Reels

Fly Reels Post any comments or questions regarding fly reels...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2009, 03:36 PM

williamsr is on a distinguished road
Default Hello, I'm new But what a great site:) reel question.

Hello All,

This is my first time posting at this site, wow; so much information just blows you away. Well after reading a ton of information, watching videos, I have decided to try and take up fly fishing. I have read reviews and read endless hours of forum threads and have come to a question that I am getting ready to ask. I think I am fortunate as most people have paved the road with stuff that has worked and not, what I am trying to say is sometimes company’s hype and don't delivery and for some this is ok if you have the money to burn and for those that don't it is hard to sort. Anyway my question is this, I have come up with 1 reel I think would be great and it seems everyone is catching things like tune on these. I will spend the extra money if I think it will last a long time.

1) Buy the Gulfstream by tibor made for 11-15 which would last forever and use 5wt line, which the reel would be 11oz then just buy a couple of different rods like Legend Elite from St. Croix in size 5wt, 9wt, and 12wt. Wouldn't that cover all the ranges? Could you set the drag according to weight of line? One reel for all these rods then just pick your line and re-spool it ever time you fished for something different? Buy 2 extra reels are there any down side to this? Like I said most people would agree that Tibor is the best and I guess I am looking why this wouldn't work other then being a little more heavy then the light editions? Just trying to save a little money by not buying a 5wt, 9wt, and 12wt reel. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Randall Williams
Old 04-07-2009, 04:04 PM
Super Moderator