The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rod Building

Fly Rod Building Discussions on building fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2013, 10:41 PM
fseren

Question Batson Forecast F865-4DB blank and Rec recoil guides?

Hi

I have just been offered a F865-4DB (8'6" 5wt 4 pieces, dark blue) Batson Forecast blank by my young nephew, who is obviously expecting me to build my first owned rod with it.
I am fairly new to fly fishing, and learnt the basics with a Sage SP rod that was lent to me. I had a look at the specs on line, and the Forecast blank seems a very good choice for a beginner. Whoever advised my nephew did a good job, also taking into account his very limited budget.
I've also found the list of recommended components there: Forecast 4pc Fly F865-4
Here is my question: do you think it would be possible, and worth it, to go for Rec recoil guides in order to keep the added stuff as light as possible and keep the blank crisp and responsive? Batson already recommends single foot guides anyway...
The difference is about $20, so it's not too bad. But I am wondering if it would affect the guide placement and overall balance...?
Also, should I keep the guide sizes suggested by Batson, i.e sizes 3 and 4 , and size 12 for the stripping guide? And should I go for the small or the bigger loop for the tip?
Since it's obviously a rod that I will keep and use - at least when my nephew's visiting ! - I'd rather build as good a fishing tool as possible.
Thanks a lot in advance
Keep warm!
Old 12-07-2013, 10:51 PM