The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rod Building

Fly Rod Building Discussions on building fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2014, 12:18 AM

qacwac will become famous soon enough
Default Question about 1st build

A friend of mine and I are planning on building rods in the coming weeks/months. As I have two single handed 5 weights and 8 weights, the only thing I really want right now is a switch rod (I'm thinking 7-weight, but not settled on that). After doing a ton of reading (thanks for all the info on here), I'm to my decision point.

Being that it is my first build, I was thinking of going ultra cheap (also since I've never done any two-handed casting), and then for a second build going with something nice. However, the cheapest reputable kits I've seen have been for around $150 and an R.B. Meiser kit (S2H11078-4) is $305. The blank is only $155 (And that looks like a rod I would be happy with for a long time.). I also found an 11' 5 weight switch kit on ebay for $77.50 shipped
Switch Rod Kit 4pc 5wt 11 ft Two Tips Reddish Brown by Roger | eBay

So, what would you recommend?

1. Ultra cheap $77.50 5 weight practice build and learn to cast kit
2. $155 RBM blank with inexpensive components
3. $305 RBM kit
4. something different entirely

Thanks, and I'm sure I'll be posting more questions once it actually begins.
Old 03-02-2014, 12:45 AM

williamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Question about 1st build