Should I go cheap on the first build?

amertens

Reaction score
So, this is a complete newbie question for rod building. I really want an epic fiberglass rod, and for the prices I'm pretty set on building the kit. My question comes in on should I build a cheap kit first to get a feel for it or should I dive right in and build what I want?

I am not too concerned about cosmetics, I just want a usable rod that will last. Will my lack of experience be detrimental to the performance or life span of a rod? I know I can redo wraps until I'm happy, but if I muff up the epoxy will it hinder the strength of the guides? Same goes for the grip and real seat.

I keep toying with the idea of starting with a cheap kit or even a cheaper spinning rod or ice pole kit, but I really don't want to waste money on a cheapy that I will probably never use. Any help or opinions?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

eastfly66

Reaction score
I just want a usable rod that will last
If you want a rod your going to use long term , try to see if you can cast one someone built already so you know what to expect , problem is with the cheap off shore blanks there like a box of chocolates , you never know what your gonna get ....
I would check out Dan Craft for close to the same price tag as " others "

and yes , I would build a good one , take your time and ask the experienced guys for advise

amertens

Reaction score
Thanks for the advice. I haven't checked out dan craft yet but have come across the name in several places and have read nothing but good things. Thanks again!

williamhj

Reaction score