Affect a Rod's Action, Vary guide wrap lengths

jrhoch

Reaction score
I am a beginner rod builder, so this may just be a terrible idea. If so, no mercy, let me know.

I was thinking about developing a heavier/stiffer tip on my 10' 4wt, kind of bringing the bend further down into the rod to assist in roll casts and have a bit more mass/momentum up top to help really move line.

I was told by a "veteran rod builder" to increase the length of thread wraps on the upper guides. This would increase mass and help stiffen up the top section of my rod once epoxied.

Any advice on how long to increase the wrap length by? (wrap length on the other guides is about 5/8") Any advice on how many guides down from the tip top to do this to?

Once again if this is a stupid idea, let me hear about it.

Thanks

Johnny

plecain

Reaction score
Doesn't sound like a stupid idea, but how will you predict what the final product will be until you have it all done?

jrhoch

Reaction score
Glad to hear that you don't think it is a bad idea.

I mean, the only prediction that i have is what i explained in my original post. I wont even have anything to compare it to so there's no telling how effective it will have been.

Thats why i am looking for input if anyone has ever tried this or has any intuition as to how many guides from the top i should do this to, or how much to increase the wrap length by.

Any opinion is appreciated as Im sure everyone here is more experienced than me.

nevadanstig

Reaction score
Ive never heard of it. One thing that comes to mind is by increasing the amount of thread and finish, your going to increase weight as well. That could lead to balance issues, plus the added weight will have a reverse effect of what youre trying to do. It will be a tip heavy pendulum working to decrease stiffness.
And thats not factoring in any "unsightlyness" from having these big guide wraps at the top of the rod.