The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rod Building

Fly Rod Building Discussions on building fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2009, 09:10 PM

cwb124 is on a distinguished road
Default Thinking about getting into rod building.

Hey there, I have recently got the itch to get into rod building. However my motive is not to build a bunch of rods, although it may lead to that. No, the end game here is to build myself 2 high quality bamboo rods. Ideally a 5'5" 1 piece 2/3 wt and a 7' 2 pc 4/5 wt.

What I'd really like to know is what is a good number of rods to have under your belt in order to be confident in building a decent bamboo and not mucking up a couple hundred $$$ worth of bamboo blanks.

I'd like to start with some cheapo kits to get my feet wet, and does anyone know if the cheapo kits from Cabelas are any good or should I look elsewhere?

Thanks for any help you can give a complete noob.
Old 05-05-2009, 10:10 PM

ezamora is a jewel in the roughezamora is a jewel in the roughezamora is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Thinking about getting into rod building.

i'm sure the cabelas kits are fine but why don't you patronize and support a smaller business which specializes on rodbuilding material and components. call hook and hackle, gregs custom rods, custom tackle or even mudhole and tell them what you want to do and buy one of their kits or piece something together with their suggestions. i think the batson RX6 blanks are great in that you get good practice, end up with a nice rod in a purdy color and hardly scratch the wallet.