The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Fly Rods (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-rods/)
-   -   Looking for a 3wt, any advice? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-rods/104333-looking-3wt-any-advice.html)

i_throw_bugs 02-14-2011 08:07 PM

Looking for a 3wt, any advice?

Hey all,

I'm on the hunt for a 3wt to get those little trout streams and creeks. I've been looking at some of the TFO (Finesse, Professional, and Signature), St. Croix (Imperial), and Orvis (Clearwater II) rods. I'm a college student, so the funds are limited. The Imperial Series, Finesse, and Clearwater II are the highest I'd go. I'm looking to cast them all before I make a choice. However, does anyone have other suggestions to try? Thanks in advance.

racine 02-14-2011 08:17 PM

Re: Looking for a 3wt, any advice?

If you can get your hands on a used Sage SLT, Winston BIIX or a very modest Albright A5( probably the most reasonable on student tax bracket) you'll really like them.

cattech89 02-14-2011 08:31 PM

Hey there Bugs and welcome,
Check this review out. I think that the Redington CT would be a good choice for your small stream rod. Price is nice and warranty is great. I don't know what kind of action you're looking for but the CT has more of a moderate action. Definitely recommend casting as many as you can though.

mcnerney 02-14-2011 09:52 PM

With your current limited funds situation, I'd look on EBay, you will be amazed at the deals on almost new condition rods you can find.

Larry

nerka 02-14-2011 11:56 PM

Do your research, but I have enjoyed the heck out of my TFO Finesse. 7'9" 3wt.

i_throw_bugs 02-15-2011 07:09 AM

Thank you all for the tips. I've been researching a good bit, now its just a matter of how they feel in my hand. I didn't even think to check ebay, so thanks!

axle27 02-15-2011 07:34 AM