The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2009, 01:37 PM

tttr83 is on a distinguished road
Default Newbie Buying a New Rod

Hi everyone,

I just broke my old Shakespeare 8 footer in a stream. It was OK. But the line sagged in places and it didn't have a hook holder. Anyway, I was looking to get an inexpensive good replacement on a budget. I'm a student and I really didn't want to spend much on a new rod. I have a pfleuger medalist reel and I think thats a solid piece of equipment that I'll keep for a while. I was really split between Cabela's Three Forks and Redington's Crosswater. But a friend of mine suggested I spend a little more for a rod with a lifetime warranty. I really would like to try out a rod before I use it to make sure if feels right, but unfortunately there isn't a cabela's near by. I s'pose I could just return it with their satisfaction guarantee. Anyway, so at the upper end of my price limit which I've decided is right around $100 is a three way tie between the Temple Fork Outfitters Lefty Kreh Series, St. Croix Triumph, and Redington Red Fly 2. I wanted your opinions about the lower two without lifetime warranties and the upper three. The one downside with the 8 foot TFO is it's a 4 weight not a 5 weight. I was used to a 6/7 weight so I'd prefer something with a little more beef. Thanks for your help.

- Carlos
Old 07-08-2009, 03:15 PM

bekiu002 will become famous soon enoughbekiu002 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Newbie Buying a New Rod

The Three Forks rod is the only rod I have ever owned or used, so based on that I really like it. As a student the price tag was just right and so far its done everything I've wanted it too.
Old 07-08-2009, 03:53 PM