The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2009, 06:10 PM

Cleep1700 is on a distinguished road
Default St. Croix Legend Elite, Sage Z Axis, or ????

Guys, I'm pretty new at this. Two years ago I took up fly fishing. I attended a fly fishing 101 class at the local junior college, have taken lessons/guided services the past two years in Colorado, and practice casting very regularly in local water here. I'm five years from retirement and know that the amount of time I am devoting to the sport now will only increase when I have unlimited time. My beginning rod has been a St. Croix Reign 9'0" 5 weight on the recommendation of a friend. I mention all of this because the opportunity to move up to better rod has been put in my lap and the St. Croix Legend Elite and Sage Z Axis have been recommended. I know I need to go to a shop and cast them (and others) to compare, but do any of you have any recommendations about these rods or others at those price points? Thanks in advance.
Craig in windy Kansas
Old 08-31-2009, 08:08 PM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future
Default Re: St. Croix Legend Elite, Sage Z Axis, or ????

The Z-Axis could be a good fit, but its action will be a good bit different than the Reign you're used to. You'd be best off going to a shop that carries multiple great brands and get their advice on which kind of rod best suits your casting stroke. You might even be better off with something with a slower action like a Scott G2 or a Winston WT or LT.