The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2006, 01:40 PM

hungup is on a distinguished road
rod and reel set up

I'm fairly new to fly fishing, i've done a little fishing on a piece of junk fiberglass rod that i found laying around in my parents house, but now i'm looking to upgrade. Nothing too fancy but I was wondering how anyone feels about a TFO pro series 8'6" 4wt and a ross cimmaron large arbor reel as a decent setup to expand my fishing career with. I'm looking at the TFO mainly because I have a friend who is very happy with his. Thanks for your input, I need it.
Old 06-08-2006, 03:39 PM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future
Default Re: rod and reel set up

That is definitely a high quality set-up, but we would need to know a little more about where you will be using it in order to say if that's an ideal set up. That would be an ideal set up for a river like the Eagle in Colorado, and some of the medium/large rivers in the east. Might be ideal for the Hooch near Atlanta as well.

For big rivers with fast water, tight brushy streams, or for throwing Bass flies, you would be better off with a different set up. Let us know what you're fishing for and where you'll be fishing and we can better tell you what would be ideal.

I'd rather hunt fish than bait deer any day.
Old 06-08-2006, 05:00 PM

hungup is on a distinguished road

I'll be doing most of my fishing around taos on rivers like the red river and the cimarron.
Old 06-09-2006, 07:51 AM
Super Moderator