The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Fly Rods (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-rods/)
-   -   Experiences with a Pflueger Trion series rod (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-rods/1262-experiences-pflueger-trion-series-rod.html)

Canuck2fan 07-02-2006 10:50 PM

Experiences with a Pflueger Trion series rod

I am just getting into fly fishing and am really torn between a St. Croix premier 9ft 6wt rod and a Pflueger Trion 9ft 6wt. Everyone around here likes the name St. Croix but are not familiar with the Trions... Any insights would be appreciated.

Fish Bones 07-04-2006 10:59 AM

I'd have to go with the St. Croix

Curtis 07-04-2006 09:53 PM

Re: Experiences with a Pflueger Trion series rod

Pflueger makes a good rod. They have been around a long time and are decent. They do not though put the technology and time into them that St. Croix does and do not carry the warranty. The Pflueger will be a perfectly servicable rod that will catch fish just fine but they really are not in the league with Croix.

dougm 07-05-2006 03:08 PM

Recommend the St. Croix ... The name Pflueger has been around forever, but not the company. The name has been sold several times...

Doug

Canuck2fan 07-05-2006 07:44 PM

Thanks for the replies. The price of the St. Croix is double the price of the Pflueger which I am fine with as it does include a carrying case (although the store says it is just el cheapo plastic and not really suitable for anything but keeping the rod in a closet) and it definitely has the better warranty.