The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2006, 10:50 PM

Canuck2fan is on a distinguished road
Default Experiences with a Pflueger Trion series rod

I am just getting into fly fishing and am really torn between a St. Croix premier 9ft 6wt rod and a Pflueger Trion 9ft 6wt. Everyone around here likes the name St. Croix but are not familiar with the Trions... Any insights would be appreciated.
Old 07-04-2006, 10:59 AM
Administrator

Fish Bones has a spectacular aura aboutFish Bones has a spectacular aura aboutFish Bones has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to Fish Bones

I'd have to go with the St. Croix

Old 07-04-2006, 09:53 PM
Curtis will become famous soon enoughCurtis will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to Curtis
Default Re: Experiences with a Pflueger Trion series rod

Pflueger makes a good rod. They have been around a long time and are decent. They do not though put the technology and time into them that St. Croix does and do not carry the warranty. The Pflueger will be a perfectly servicable rod that will catch fish just fine but they really are not in the league with Croix.
Old 07-05-2006, 03:08 PM
Cast Like A Pro

dougm will become famous soon enoughdougm will become famous soon enough

Recommend the St. Croix ... The name Pflueger has been around forever, but not the company. The name has been sold several times...

Doug

Fly Fishing with Doug Macnair
www.douglasmacnair.com
Old 07-05-2006, 07:44 PM

Thanks for the replies. The price of the St. Croix is double the price of the Pflueger which I am fine with as it does include a carrying case (although the store says it is just el cheapo plastic and not really suitable for anything but keeping the rod in a closet) and it definitely has the better warranty.