The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2010, 12:56 PM

barberc6864 has a spectacular aura aboutbarberc6864 has a spectacular aura about
Default Which one to buy????

I am just getting into fly fishing and live in Iowa where I will be mostly fishing small streams for trout and smallies and lakes and ponds for gills and crappie. I think I want a 3 or 4wt rod and am not real sure on the length (around $100 or less).

I have narrowed the search to these rods but would be open to other ideas:
Redington Crosswater combo 4wt 7'6" $100
Bass Pro White River Dogwood Canyon Combo 4wt 7' $70
Cabelas Windriver Combo 4wt 7'6" $70
Cabelas Three Forks/Prestige Plus Combo 3wt 7'6" $80

Okuma SLV rod only 2/3wt 8' $70
Greys G-series rod only 3/4wt 8' $60

Any input, suggestions, or experience with any of these would be very helpful.

Thanks!
Old 02-16-2010, 01:43 PM

Rip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Which one to buy????

The only one that I'm familiar with is the Three Forks. I had one and sold it.
I didn't care for it myself but there are plenty of other people that think differently.
I no longer own any 3wts, but have three 4wts. IMO you'd be happier going that route also

You might want to think about an Albright too
They're having a wicked sale.... check the shipping rate before decide, however

http://www.albrightflyfish.com/fly-o...od-outfit.html
Old 02-17-2010, 08:20 AM