what would you get next?

luked

Reaction score
ok so as a lot know im still kinda new to Fly Fishing more relearning than anything.....i have a 9' 5wt Sage Flight and also a 8'6" 3wt off brand....if you were to get another rod what would you get? been looking at maybe getting one of the $50 St Croix rods if i still can but not really sure what to get really as far as weight and length that i couldnt already do with the 2 i have.....anyone got any ideas or opinions maybe

Rip Tide

Reaction score
Well, it depends on where you fish and what you like to fish for, but I couldn't do without an 8wt.
I have 4 and I probably use that size the most.

axle27

Reaction score
Gotta agree with Rip (naturally). Really depends on the water your gonna fish and what you're after.

I'd LOVE to have a 9wt, but I'd almost never use it.

luked

Reaction score
Yea prob never gonna use anything very big...mainly fishin for trout and maybe some bass but thats about it

ksigtuck

Reaction score
I have a 3 and a 5 wt. My next rod will either be a 4 or 6. Once I have these then the majority of my fishing needs will be covered. Now who wants to loan me a couple grand:D
TUck

axle27

Reaction score
Were it me (and I know it's not), I'd go for a 7wt and you'd be done.

Just my opinion, but you'd have just about all freshwater fish covered, except perhaps big musky or pike.

I picked up a backup 5wt for streamers and a 4wt just for fun.

SkipS

Reaction score
Im with Rip Tide,I cant do without an 8wt.Since you have a 3wt and a 5wt,you have the lighter weights covered.An 8wt would give you a good bass rod and cover you for about 90% of inshore saltwater fishing.Matter of fact,if I could only have one rod for the rest of my life,it would be an 8wt.

Jimmie

Reaction score
Yep, +1 for an 8 wt for the bigger ones.