The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2010, 01:33 PM

luked is a jewel in the roughluked is a jewel in the roughluked is a jewel in the roughluked is a jewel in the rough
Default what would you get next?

ok so as a lot know im still kinda new to Fly Fishing more relearning than anything.....i have a 9' 5wt Sage Flight and also a 8'6" 3wt off brand....if you were to get another rod what would you get? been looking at maybe getting one of the $50 St Croix rods if i still can but not really sure what to get really as far as weight and length that i couldnt already do with the 2 i have.....anyone got any ideas or opinions maybe
Old 03-03-2010, 02:54 PM

Rip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: what would you get next?

Well, it depends on where you fish and what you like to fish for, but I couldn't do without an 8wt.
I have 4 and I probably use that size the most.
Old 03-03-2010, 03:38 PM

axle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud of

Gotta agree with Rip (naturally). Really depends on the water your gonna fish and what you're after.

I'd LOVE to have a 9wt, but I'd almost never use it.
Old 03-03-2010, 03:41 PM