The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2010, 09:05 PM

atxflyfish is on a distinguished road
Default Orvis Clearwater II Go/No-go

I'm new to this site and to fly fishing in general, and you guys have already been very helpful. So, thanks!

I've been looking pretty hard at the Orvis Clearwater II 9' 5-weight with BBS reel outfit, but have heard mixed reviews here. One guy uses it for his clients and really likes it, another said he was disappointed in the finish, particularly that is chips very easily.

So, is this a good rod or not? I'm a beginner, but I don't mind spending a little more money for a rod that I can continue to use as I get better. Am I better off getting the St. Croix Avid with Three Forks reel from Cabelas? The only downside of that is that I get less reel.
Old 04-16-2010, 10:10 PM

Davo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to Davo Send a message via Skype™ to Davo
Default Re: Orvis Clearwater II Go/No-go

atxflyfish

I believe I'm probably the guy who has them as client rods you refer to. I have had no issues with the finish chipping on my clearwaterII 6wt's. If I did they would go right back to Orvis for repair or replacement. I have use Orvis gear for the majority of my fly fishing for 37yrs. Broken numerous rods in numerous ways, everyone has been repaired and a couple have been replaced with no hassle and no questions. I think the clearwaterII will be a great rod that you can enjoy for many years.