The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2010, 01:13 PM

hookworm is on a distinguished road
Default First Rod got about $100 to spend

I'm new to fly fishing. Looking to get into the sport.
I have about $100 to spend on a rod, think I'm going with the Allen & Co XL reel.

My buddy who has been fishing here in Montana for a long time says I should get a 9' 6wt 4pc.
Last season I got a raft so I will probably be doing the majority of my fishing out of that.

I've been looking at the St. Croix Reign, Redington Redfly, TFO Sig and I came across a Powell SSL at 50% off for $100. The Powell seems like the best deal but I'm a little leary with their history and wonder about the quality.

Would you guys recommend a 6wt? and what rod would you recommend for $100?

I desperately tried to find a Sage Launch but even on clearance their $150

Thanks for any help
Old 04-22-2010, 01:26 PM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: First Rod got about $100 to spend

Hook,

For Montana, yep a six would be fine. As for brand I will leave that to those more in tune with the current market. I will say this, the only bad fly rod I ever owned had a broken tip!

Ard

Life On The Line - Alaska Fishing with Ard

The Alaska Fishing & Outdoors Blog;
Old 04-22-2010, 03:06 PM
Administrator