Tough time setting the hook with a dry, need some help

dsssox13

Reaction score
I have been out multiple times and i am somewhat new to fly fishing. I have been using dry flies and have been getting a lot of hits, but everytime the fish takes it under i try and set the hook and the fly comes flying out of the water right back at me or straight up, hopefully someone can help and i can land some more fish, thanks for your tips or pointers.

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
There will be a multitude of responses to this question but I will offer mine now. If you are actually striking hard enough to pop the fly up out of the water you simply need more experience with dry fly fishing. With time and a good number of fish taking the fly you will become more relaxed and refrain from the Bass Master hook set style.

I fished dry flies a lot over the years and found that if I simply allowed the fish to grab the fly and re-submerge 90% of the little buggers hooked themselves and all I had to do was gently raise the rod tip therefore increasing the angle of the line / hook to the fish as it was attempting to return to its feeding station. The phenomenon of focusing much of your attention on a floating dry fly in anticipation of a strike from a fish is similar to the effect of winding a spring and when the ever surprising splash happens at the terminal end of your tackle very often we are startled by it and almost jump, thereby twitching the rod back way too hard.