The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2011, 01:25 AM

countr21 has much to be proud ofcountr21 has much to be proud ofcountr21 has much to be proud ofcountr21 has much to be proud ofcountr21 has much to be proud ofcountr21 has much to be proud ofcountr21 has much to be proud ofcountr21 has much to be proud of
Default Need a new backpacking rod

Hello all,

I am a beginner to intermediate fly angler (3 yrs exp), and 90% of my fishing is high mountain lakes during the summer on long day hikes and long backpacking trips in the Rockies. The only rod I've ever carried is a Temple Fork 9'6w 4-piece rod and reel that came in a $200 starter package from Bass Pro Shops. I did buy a nicer reel for it later, and put a sinking line on the original cheap reel.

As I've become a little better backcountry angler, I am ready to upgrade to a nicer setup. And I was possibly thinking about going to a little smaller setup like a 8.5 foot 5 weight, with a little bit more control on delicate presentations and fishing the smaller streams connecting the lakes. But also, the high lakes can be breezy places, and sometimes I constantly fight the wind. I've read that 9'6w rods are better for cutting into the wind, obviously?

And sometimes you need to make some long casts on lakes (which I am not good at)..........in fact I would like to emphasize I am not a good, experienced caster. But I have my moments.

I don't really know the brands too well, but I've heard of all the biggies, St Croix, Sage, etc. I want to spend up to $300 or so. And do I need a new reel if I buy a 8'5w, or can I use the one off of my 6w? And I obviously need a 4-piece rod and I already have a good pack case for it.
Old 06-19-2011, 01:43 AM
Administrator