The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2011, 02:35 PM

nick4222 is on a distinguished road
Default Setup for a Beginner

I am new to fly fishing and was wondering if I could solicit some opinions. Is an Echo Carbon 5wt with a Lamson Konic reel a good setup for a beginner, balancing price and pefromance?
Old 06-27-2011, 03:14 PM

darwin is a jewel in the roughdarwin is a jewel in the roughdarwin is a jewel in the roughdarwin is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Setup for a Beginner

I have not used either of those, but they both have good reputations. I love the Lamson drags and I am wanting to purchase a Echo rod.
Go and cast the rod to make sure you like it, if you can.
Others with hands on experience will be along shortly.
Old 06-27-2011, 04:03 PM

nick4222 is on a distinguished road

Thanks! I look forward to seeing what some of those folks (hopefully) have to say. The owner of my local fly shop also suggested taking a few casting lessons and then trying the Echo Carbon along with a few others to see what felt best (an offer I am certainly going to take him up on).
Old 06-27-2011, 05:44 PM

chicagojohn will become famous soon enoughchicagojohn will become famous soon enough

I would take a casting lesson and test a few rods like the Echo Carbon, St. Croix Imperial, and Winston Passport. All of these rods will have slightly different actions, either faster or slower. Once you learn the proper mechanics of the fly cast, you will naturally cast a certain taper of rod the better based on your casting stroke.
Old 06-27-2011, 06:27 PM

notenuftoys has a spectacular aura aboutnotenuftoys has a spectacular aura about

What chicagojohn said....