The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2011, 09:58 PM

wmcook3200 is on a distinguished road
Default Affordable fly rod.

Hello there,
I am new to fly fishing. I have been fishing with a 5 wt rod that I recieved for christmas. I have become totaly hooked on this fly fishing thing and have been practicing alot. Problem is here in the middle of Kansas there aren't many trout to fish for. My fishin opportunities are more limited to bass and carp. I am not having much luck casting bass bugs of much size with my 5 wt. I have been told to buy a 8 or 9 wt rod for fishing for bass. My question is does anyone make a 9 wt fly rod that is affordable. Most rods I have seen seem to cost $300 or more. Surely there is an affordable fly rod out there that performs well. Thanks for any suggestions.
Old 07-20-2011, 10:10 PM

okuma is a glorious beacon of lightokuma is a glorious beacon of lightokuma is a glorious beacon of lightokuma is a glorious beacon of lightokuma is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via Yahoo to okuma
Default Re: Affordable fly rod.

check cabela's rods. i have 2 traditions II rods I like alot. 9 weight is a big rod. how big are the bass?
Old 07-20-2011, 10:32 PM

ghost_reaper is on a distinguished road

Cabelas had the Redington Red.Fly2 rods on clearance depending on what your looking for. These rods come with a lifetime warranty. WHICH IS HUGE!

I own two of them and the are great rods. I have a 5wt and an 8wt.
Old 07-20-2011, 10:50 PM

ncflyboy will become famous soon enoughncflyboy will become famous soon enough
Smile Re: Affordable fly rod.

Hi WM,