The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2011, 06:06 PM

loonwatcher is on a distinguished road
Default albright rods

I am new to fly fishing and was thinking about buying an Albright Topwater fly rod. Does anyone have have any experience with Albright? Is this a good rod?
Old 07-31-2011, 06:25 PM

driftaway is on a distinguished road
Default Re: albright rods

I have the A5 it a 9ft 5wt. Very nice rod and packs down for travel very nicely. They were given a good review from the Yellowstone Angler a few years ago. I have had no issues with mine.
Old 07-31-2011, 06:52 PM

s fontinalis has a brilliant futures fontinalis has a brilliant futures fontinalis has a brilliant futures fontinalis has a brilliant futures fontinalis has a brilliant futures fontinalis has a brilliant futures fontinalis has a brilliant futures fontinalis has a brilliant futures fontinalis has a brilliant futures fontinalis has a brilliant futures fontinalis has a brilliant future
Send a message via Skype™ to s fontinalis

I just bought the A5-NS 5wt, based on some reviews from yellowstone angler of the A5 and the great 'sales' they have on albright. I bought it for $188 5 weeks ago.
The A5-NS is and update to the A5. I had it out on the river today for the first time. The rod is very responsive and casts like a dream. I had no problems with long casts up to about 30ft, that was as far as i was casting today, so cant say how it performs at longer distances.
It is well build and looks great. I really have no complaints so far.

As for albright, i have numerous products from them including the GP reel (7/8 wt) and as well as an earlier reel they produced (Bugati) and the bridgestone waders and boots. Over all i've been very satisfied with the products and the customer service.