The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2007, 11:07 PM

TripleBogey is on a distinguished road
Default Rod for a newbie: Sage FLi or Launch or ???

First off I am new to fly fishing. I took some casting lessons, which means to me that I am eager to buy my first rod (9ft 5wt) and reel . The casting instructor suggested a medium fast action rod to start off with. With that in mind, I have been thinking about getting either a Sage Launch or FLi. I am also thinking of pairing it with a Ross CLA #2. I am open to your suggestions and/or recommendations, it doesn't have to be Sage or Ross. I am leaning towards those because my local fly shop has that in stock so I am able to handle them while there.
Old 02-05-2007, 11:24 PM
Joni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Rod for a newbie: Sage FLi or Launch or ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleBogey View Post
First off I am new to fly fishing. I took some casting lessons, which means to me that I am eager to buy my first rod (9ft 5wt) and reel . The casting instructor suggested a medium fast action rod to start off with. With that in mind, I have been thinking about getting either a Sage Launch or FLi. I am also thinking of pairing it with a Ross CLA #2. I am open to your suggestions and/or recommendations, it doesn't have to be Sage or Ross. I am leaning towards those because my local fly shop has that in stock so I am able to handle them while there.