The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2011, 04:45 PM

flyfishingjack is on a distinguished road
Default Cabela's Traditional II Fly Rod or Cabela's Three Forks Fly Rod?

I'm a beginner fly fisherman and looking for a easy to cast rod, etc. I'm debating between the two for a 4WT rod. Will be mainly fishing for small trout and panfish in small-medium streams and ponds/lakes with it. Which one would you go with and why? Any experience with either?

Cabela's Traditional II 4WT, 9'/4pieces or a 7'6/4pieces

or

Cabela's Three Forks 4WT, 9' 4 pieces

Any reason why I should go 9' over 7'6 or the other way around?

Thanks!
Old 08-10-2011, 05:31 PM

rangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to all
Default Re: Cabela's Traditional II Fly Rod or Cabela's Three Forks Fly Rod?

I owned a 9' 5wt. two pc. Traditional II, as well as a Three Forks 7' 6" 3 wt. 3 pc. rod. Both fished well, and I still have the Three Forks 3 wt. In fact, it is one of my favorites for fishing small streams with lots of brushy overhanging stuff. I would think that a Three Forks 4 wt., maybe an 8 ft. would be a pretty good small stream rod if you have to avoid lots of branches, etc. If that is not a problem, then maybe look at a longer rod.

I will say that the Three Forks 3 wt. is a very medium action rod. This means your casting stroke will be pretty slow. Try to muscle this rod or use a fast tempo, and nothing good will happen. However, use an almost lazy stroke, and the rod casts pretty well. Also, I can get the rod to load with very little line out, meaning I can get a cast even if my target is only ten feet away.