The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2010, 03:41 PM

drugcoder is on a distinguished road
Default Help me with my first rod...

When my grandfather passed away I inherited his fly reel. There was no rod with it. Seemed to me like a great time to get started fly fishing. I took the reel down to my local fly shop and asked to look at some entry level rods. I don't want to spend $200+ on a rod yet when I'm just starting out. The two that he initially showed me were a TFO rod which was a 2 piece, 9' 5wt priced at $79. I don't remember the name of the model. The second rod he showed me was a Greys 4 piece 9' 5wt priced at $89. Looking at their website I'm guessing it was the GS series.

Taking into consideration the other initial costs of getting started such as fly boxes, initial stock of flies, line, leaders, etc. etc... I really can't spend more than $140 on the rod itself.

Does anyone have any experience with the two rods that they showed me in the shop? Any rods in my price range that you like better?
Old 06-23-2010, 06:38 PM

blackbear will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Help me with my first rod...

A fishing buddy of mine just purchased an 8' 4wt greys GS2. I fished the rod for a while and was pretty blown away at the price/quality ratio...I would go with the greys GS2 series with a 94.99 retail in a 9'5wt.
Old 06-23-2010, 07:42 PM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute