Buying a Second Rod

auntrout

Reaction score
Looking for ideas/recommendations for a second rod. I currently have Sage 590-LL which I've been fishing on and off for the last 15 years. I'm starting get back into the sport more seriously again, plus my daughter is really interested in learning so this second rod will be something for her to use when we head out fishing. I mainly fish the Eastern Sierras in California but am hoping to start fishing new waters out west, plus possibly in the TN/NC area. I was thinking with going with another 9 ft 5 wt but fast action rod, however, after attending a seminar last week at my local fly shop, the guest speaker who fishes the areas I do said his rod arsenal consisted of a 9ft 5wt, 8 ft 4 wt, 7 1/2 ft 3 wt, and 10 1/2 ft 3 wt for nymphing. After hearing this I'm thinking I should reconsider and probably not get another 9 ft 5wt, even though it would be a fast action compared to my Sage LL. For those that are familiar with the area, I typically fish Hot Creek and the Upper Owens River.

famill00

Reaction score
For fishing the small streams of the Smoky Mountains an 8' 4wt is perfect. If you want to go lighter, a 7' 6" 3wt would be a good choice. I would lend toward the 4wt just because it will be better if there is a breeze...

My 2 cents!

-Forrest

mikel

Reaction score
If you had 2 LL's instead of one, would you think you need a different rod? If not, then maybe another 5 (med fast) might be the answer. If you're thinking (after the seminar) that you would want something functionally different from the LL...then for nymphing, I'd lean toward a longer 4 wt, maybe 10' for nymphing. I'd say the 4 wt over a 3 because of the winds you get in the Owens Valley. If you want a "streamer rod" you might go another direction.

You'll probably get lots of varying opinions. :)

-Mike

auntrout

Reaction score