The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2007, 07:46 PM

charwoods3 is on a distinguished road
Default $200 to spend

Hello,

I am pretty new to fly fishing. When I lived in Alaska, we bought a combo setup to mess around with. Now that we are back in Arkansas, I would like to get back into it.

I have $200 to spend. I have 2 old martin reels that I could use if i can't fit a reel into my budget. I'm looking at a 9' 5 wt rod for fishing mainly panfish and bass but might be able to make it up to northern Arkansas for a trout run. I am looking mainly at TFO and Echo rods right now. I would like to get a complete outfit, but at least need the rod, line and other things needed other than a reel. I would appreciate any suggestions on what to spend the remaining $60 on after the purchase of the rod. Mainly would like to know if it would be worth taking a lower end line in order to get a new reel, or if I should just tough it out with the old reel and just buy line for now.

Thanks,
Chad
Old 06-20-2007, 09:18 AM
Prospecting for Trout

Piscator will become famous soon enoughPiscator will become famous soon enough
Default Re: $200 to spend

TFO and Echo both have great rods in that price range. Check out the Full Creel Fly Shop for both and a 21 day trail, free shipping and no tax.

Another option for you is TFO Combo which includes: rod, reel, line, backing, leader and rod & reel carrying case for $174.95. I think the Rod is either the Signature or Pro rods. Either one are great rods. That way your under you 2 c-notes and you will have enough for a few flies.

I hope this helps.
Thanks,
Terry
Old 06-20-2007, 12:55 PM
Administrator