The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2011, 09:54 PM

chi flyfisher is a splendid one to beholdchi flyfisher is a splendid one to beholdchi flyfisher is a splendid one to beholdchi flyfisher is a splendid one to beholdchi flyfisher is a splendid one to beholdchi flyfisher is a splendid one to behold
Default Sage Fly Rods

I love my Sage rods. I have 5 of them. But relatively speaking, I'm new to the game of premium fly rods. I fished St. Croix Imperial, Avid, Premier rods and before that some rods I don't even remember the names of... I still have those old St. Croix rods except my old 9 ft. 5/6 wt. 2 pc. that my nephew has now. I don't fish 'em... but I don't part with them.

I have no interest in the Sage One (well maybe a little). I have too much invested in recent Sage rods. But I do have interest in older Sage rods. The problem is, I'm having a heck of a time researching them - the LL series, which I believe had the Graphite II and III blanks, RPL, SLT, SP, RPLX. There are a ton. Does anyone know a resource for information on these older rods and blanks? What the difference was between Graphite II, III, IIIe, and such.

I love my Z-Axis Rods - they suit me in certain situations. I have a 6 wt. XP that I've not fished yet (my first foray into "older" Sage rods but relatively young when you go back to the late 80's early 90's sticks). I have fished my buddy's 3 wt. XP - awesome stick. But my favorite Sage rod is my 8 1/2 ft. ZXL. A dream. This leads me to believe, based on my research, that I might love fishing the SLT series and I'm considering a 490-4 SLT when I need the extra 6" but don't want to go to a Z-Axis. I'm thinking about searching for a 3 wt' LL series to fish when I don't want to throw my 8'8" Loop Opti Creek outfit but do I want a LL with the Graphite II or III...